Governor positions to open, candidates welcome

January 2021—The CAP election to fill four positions on the Board of Governors will take place this summer. The CAP is encouraging its members who have been CAP fellows for at least five years and involved in CAP volunteer activities to take the next leadership step.

Three incumbent governors—Alfred Wray Campbell, MD, MBA; Richard M. Scanlan, MD; and Nancy A. Young, MD—are eligible for reelection to another three-year term on the Board of Governors. Dr. Young does not intend to seek reelection. Raouf E. Nakhleh, MD, will complete his second term as governor and is ineligible for another term.

CAP membership will also select a new president-elect for a two-year term. Eligible candidates must have been a CAP fellow for at least 10 years and have served on the Board of Governors. Emily E. Volk, MD, MBA, will begin her term as president on Sept. 25.

In addition, CAP membership will select a new secretary-treasurer for a three-year term. Eligible candidates must have been a CAP fellow for at least 10 years and have served on the Board of Governors. Current secretary-treasurer Richard R. Gomez, MD, will complete his second term and is ineligible for reelection to another three-year term.

Fellows can be placed in nomination for these positions by the Nominating Committee or by submitted petition signed by at least 100 CAP fellows who are eligible to vote. Electronic petition forms are now available. For more information on becoming a Board member, visit www.cap.org (About the CAP > Board of Governors). To request petition forms, contact Tari McDermand (847-832-7260 or tmcderm@cap.org). June 27 is the deadline for nomination by petition.

The CAP Nominating Committee is expected to meet on May 2, 2021 to interview candidates for office. Members of the 2021 Nominating Committee are William F. Hickey, MD, chair; Paul Bachner, MD; Sharon K. Bihlmeyer, MD; Thomas J. Cooper, Jr., MD; Georgia K. Olympio, MD; Amyn M. Rojiani, MD, PhD; and Kailash B. Sharma, MD.

Members of the Election Oversight Committee are Stephen N. Bauer, MD, chair; Gail Habegger Vance, MD; and Paul N. Valenstein, MD.